Health and Safety

CUPE members face a wide range of on-the-job health and safety hazards. Our union continues to reaffirm health and safety as a vital part of our work by providing tools and resources to CUPE members to encourage activism; continuing to research, educate and communicate with members about current and emerging health and safety hazards.

Health and Safety Committee

Chief Health and Safety Officer, Geoff Freshwater

Town Hall

Lyndsay Joseph, Anil Paul, Shane Christensen, Brad Wylie – Alternate

Operations & Environmental Services

Murray Lougheed, Tim Burgess, Cameron Taylor,  Dylan Quigley – Vacant

Recreation & Culture

Geoff Brady (ACC), Sandy Jorgensen (ACC), Vacant (ACC), Maria McCarthy (ACC – Alternate), Julie Lupinacci (MCC), Mike Davis (MCC – Alternate), Kim Grant (ARC), Vacant (ARC – Alternate)

Joint Job Evaluation Committee

In accordance with the Collective Agreement, the Joint Job Evaluation Committee (JJEC) oversees the Job Evaluation Program.

The Joint Job Evaluation Committee is appointed by the Employer and the Union to deal with appeals lodged by the incumbent(s) and/or management with respect to the rating of a job.

The JJEC will be responsible for rating all newly created job classifications and those existing job classifications which have undergone material change and annually a proportion of job classifications to ensure currency (maintenance).

The Committee ensures fairness and maintains integrity while meeting (as required) to review appeals under the CUPE 54 Joint Job Evaluation Program.

Job Evaluation Committee

Katie Carpe (Co-Chair), Bill Hickey , Sonia Courtney, Lorrie Neuman, Linsey Joseph (Alternate)